On travel…

I’m sitting here in this foreign land, in a cafe across from a river with a name I can’t pronounce (yet). I’m eating my dinner- a local specialty which, if I could find it, costs less than half what it would at home. I’m drinking my beverage made of a fruit I love but which costs $2 a piece at home and wouldn’t be frittered away in a drink if I bought it. And I’m reading my downloaded book (thank you, library!) which has nothing to do with travel, but which nonetheless just delivered the following thought-provoking quote to me. Enjoy…

“No man is brave that has never walked a hundred miles. If you want to know the truth of who you are, walk until not a person knows your name. Travel is the great leveler, the great teacher, bitter as medicine, crueler than mirror-glass. A long stretch of road will teach you more about yourself that a hundred years of quiet introspection.”

~Patrick Rothfuss

Thoughts?

9 thoughts on “On travel…

  1. Half?! I mean only half the price it would cost in the US?…oh my I think I have to re-dimension my plans on how much my budget will stretch once in SE Asia ;p
    Nice quote 😉

    • D’oh! Well, the good news is that I found dinner for a dollar (or just over) in every city I visited. However, that wasn’t necessarily the food I wanted to eat every single night, and sometimes it’s worth an extra couple of dollars to get the nice atmosphere and not have to worry as much about food safety. Long story short: don’t worry- you’ll have options. 🙂

Leave a Reply

