Beach time!

The islands of Thailand are really breathtaking. It’s funny, though- getting to the beach is not at all straightforward.  At home, if we want to go to the beach, we just walk there (assuming it’s summer, of course). But here… no- it’s a bit of
an ordeal.  So… for starters, from Bangkok, we flew down to Krabi in the south of Thailand.

Then we took a bus from Krabi airport to Ao Nang Beach, but this beach wasn’t even a swimming beach. You have to take more boats and trek through jungle to get to the
really nice beaches. So we tried a trip to Koh Phi Phi Don (a 2 hour ferry ride away from Ao Nang), but while the beach in front of us there looked okay, it didn’t appear to be attracting any beachgoers.

So we hiked 30 min through and up and down a rough forest path to get to Long beach- which was beautiful, but had a rough/sharp stone and shell bar to walk over before you could make it into the surf.  Alternatively, you can take yet
another boat to Maya bay on Koh Phi Phi Ley, the site from the movie The Beach.

Maya bay looks really beautiful and calm in photos, but we couldn’t justify spending another $100 just to get to the 4th beach in one day for just 2 hours of beach time. Why wasn’t the first beach the destination?  I have to say that while it’s beautiful here, there is quite a scam on parting tourists with their money in search of the perfect beach.

 

 

 

 

 

It feels much easier to get to a good beach in
the US. In fact, I think I prefer my 10-block walk.  But I’ll take the amazing fresh seafood of Thailand any day!

 

 

And maybe getting there is half the fun?  We certainly enjoyed ourselves. Kim took some great shots of the journey. And we met a lovely couple from Seattle, who shared their umbrella with me in the hot, hot sun. (Which I’m pretty sure was absolutely determined to burn me to a crisp.)

 

 

And hanging your feet off the edge of the ferry, with the wind in your hair, just makes for a better ride home.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Beach time!

    • You can be part of the friend duo- there’s always room for more! 🙂 And though I’ve definitely flown a lot in the past few months, it’s always been on normal-sized planes. None of those little ones, I promise you!

      • Ok, well then, you’ve calmed two fears at once. 😉 I can’t wait to friend-duo with you sometime soon … in the regular sized plans, or no planes at all. maybe no cars. maybe just feet? walking. sitting! lol

      • I don’t believe so. My brother is getting married this fall, and so I pretty much need to devote my $$ and vacay time to that. As for sitting with ice cream, not only does that sounds like the name of a weird book, it also sounds like a good idea.

      • Lol. I don’t remember exactly when, but I think it’s in Charlotte in September? I would google it for you, but my computer isn’t working so I’m briefly on a slow, slow public one that someone else is waiting for. Eeek!

Leave a Reply

