Ubud goodies and Packing list

The markets and shops in Ubud are colorful and seductive. I’ve already mentally picked out some beautiful wood carvings, silk scarves, brightly-colored batik sarongs, bead and shell necklaces, hand-crafted silver, woven purses, cotton wraps, wooden penis carvings (what?), silk dresses, stone figures, plumeria hair pins, and all for less than the cost of one meal in Australia. If only I had room. I brought too small a backpack and I can barely fit in all the precautionary crap I bought for the trip as it is: antihistamines, acetaminophen, aspirin, antibiotics, anti-malarials, immodium, toilet paper, purell, deet, sunblock, vitamins, rain ponchos, extra saline, anti-fungals, bandaids, Neosporin, feminine care products, anti-insect sleepsack, quick-dry travel towel, extra contacts, flashlight, door stopper (safety), anti-itch cream (for the 20 mosquito bites I’ve already acquired), inflatable travel pillow, you name it- all in a tiny case. It’s hard to be a minimalist when you’re warned to bring all this stuff since not all SE Asian destinations have stores that sell what you might need. I hardly even brought any clothes at all. At least I’ll have some room at the end of my trip once I’ve used up all the saline, etc. But I almost had to sit on the suitcase to get it to zip shut before my flight here. Hmmm… I wonder what the international shipping rates are from Bali…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Ubud goodies and Packing list

  1. That reminds me.. the one time I went backpacking, I bought a second backpack! hahah. So many beautiful things.. how could one not buy them, esp the scarves! Yes, I have several penis carvings from the Philippines.. those are mighty popular out that way. 🙂 hehehe.

    • Yeah- I bought a bigger purse, but I don’t think I can get away another backpack as my current daypack is already at the carry-on weight limit. I try to make it look light as a feather but I’m pretty sure it weighs more than my checked bag. 🙂

  2. Oh my, I can’t remember taking any of the stuff you mentioned on my first and subsequent trips to Bali! Did you get to use any? I sure hope not but have enjoyed the beautiful island itself, raw! Thanks for sharing and for dropping by…

    • Well, much of the stuff is supposed to come in handy over the course of the 4 month trip, but luckily I haven’t had to use half of it! I’m jealous that you’ve had subsequent trips to Bali. 🙂

Leave a Reply

