Aussie Abbreviations

Like the Brits, the Aussies abbreviate many words. It makes the language more fun, and gives you interesting puzzles to work through as you listen to conversations.  Listed below are some common abbreviations that require a bit of attention and some problem-solving skills… I’m sure this will come in handy if any of you are ever on “Jeopardy”:

Arvo, sunnies, brekky, g’day, champers, cossie, mozzies, chooks, trackie daks, pressies, esky, Macca’s, snag, Chrissie, etc, etc.

Can you guess them all?

And EVERYONE gets their name abbreviated, often with an “o” at the end, or a “z” sound.  (So, Dave = Davo, and Karen = Kaz, and Sharon = Shaz).

And nobody actually says ‘throw another shrimp on the barbie’, not because they wouldn’t use the word ‘barbie’- because they would.  But they wouldn’t bother to put shrimp on it- shrimp (when they even use the word at all), are just tiny things, and here they eat prawns, which can be positively enormous!  And, as I’ve personally discovered: delicious.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Aussie Abbreviations

  1. LOVE this post. Reminds me of when I lived with an Aussie for two years; I learned a lot. Five Star Louise (Lou) gave me a book to help with the translation.

    Have you been to Aussie rules? Good stuff. Check it out if you can.

    And have a champers for me.

    Love, Kristi

    • I didn’t realize that Five Star Louise was an Aussie! That would make her even more fun than I imagined. Have been downing Banrock Station moscato here- that counts as champers, right? 🙂

  2. I only know that sunnies are sun glasses, otherwise I’m lost. So, does that mean your name is LIZ over there? Or do you get both with Lizzo? I wonder if that’s where Liz came from?? Now your name is starting to sound weird to me like I just said it 50 times.

  3. I knew one of those abbreviations. hahaha. My name is already abbreviated. Do they abbreviate abbreviations? Everything seems quick and shorthand but also so chill and relaxed. I am so very confused!!! So Kangaroo on the barbie? G’day, Lizzo. lol.

Leave a Reply

