They eat WHAT???

This country has some delicious food. And some weird food.  And some of the same food, but with different names. What an adventure!

First, let’s look at some of this odd food. Apparently, aboriginals in the outback actually eat witchetty grubs.

They pull them right out of the ground and eat them, because they’re an excellent source of protein. But even the candy version looks a little gross to me. I’m going to pass on this one.

Remember those cute photos I posted of the kangaroos?  This is the first type of kangaroo I saw here. Also available: Kanga Bangas. Yes- bangers made out of kangaroo.

But there’s far more good stuff here than weird stuff. In fact, not only have I found nothing questionable in my counsins’ cupboards, (except that vegemite) I think I’ve wanted to try eating every other unique/new-to-me food I’ve found here. Now that foodie adventure could fill a few new posts already…

 

3 thoughts on “They eat WHAT???

  1. Pass? I have been curious how Kanagroo burgers would taste. If it’s a delicious cheeseburger, you won’t notice lol. DO IT! DO IT! You only live once. The grubs, though, ugh…

  2. oh well, here in Finland they eat crisps from a bag labelled as “Minipussy” so when it comes to strange names I guess every crountry has inspirational products 😉 Thanks for visiting my blog and I will follow your surely as I will be in SE Asia late this autumn after my USA and Japan part of my round the world trip 😉

    • I think one of my favorite things about traveling is finding those odd products. Sounds like I’d better add Finland to my travel list!
      I loved Japan, though I only spent a week there in Tokyo and Kyoto. I hope to go back to Kyoto and explore some other smaller towns someday. And let me know if you need any advice about the US travels. I’d be happy to help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

