James Bond Island

We decided that there were so many interesting things to see near to Ao Nang/Krabi that we’d better combine a few of them into an organized tour. This is pretty common in SE Asia- there are tour companies everywhere, happy to whisk you away to the local attractions and overcharge you a little, but they make it worth your while by taking all the worry and planning and transportation issues out of the equation for you.

Well, we loved the photos we’d seen of the “James Bond island” (so named because ‘The Man with the Golden Gun’ was filmed there), and so we booked a tour that featured a visit to it. Its actual name?  Ko Tapu, or ‘Nail Island’.

It’s such an impossible-looking limestone karst, rising top-heavy up out of the green waters.

Well, we didn’t get to spend much time there (maybe 30 minutes- certainly not enough time for any of the Bond actors to show up) but the other destinations were pretty fun, too. We also saw a floating village, the Tone-Tai waterfall, and Wat Suwankuha – the monkey temple with Buddhas tucked away in a cave amongst the stalactites.

It was a very full day, and as always, we got to know some of the people on our tour with us, which is always fun and informative (you learn a lot when you meet people from other cities and countries).

And Kim made a very special friend of her own.  :-)

6 thoughts on “James Bond Island

  1. Gorgeous pictures and also I’m jealous you went there.. well everywhere :P
    I love James Bond and actually recognize the first few photos- I’ve seen them somewhere before!
    I am quite excited that you are having such a great time!

    • Lol- I can’t wait to help you plan your own trip some day. :-) That’s really cool that you recognized the island! I’m adding that movie to my list to be watched when I get home. :-)

  2. Lovely! This post caught my eye right away with the eerily familiar pic of the island. I am so jealous that I don’t get to be the other “half” of your friendship duo, but I am so glad that you, do! Of course, I guess if you weren’t part of the duo, it wouldn’t be *your* friendship duo. Hmmmm. Deep thoughts. :D

  3. Wow. It all looks so lovely. I’m enjoying my little bit of ‘armchair travelling’ and reading your blog! Keep having fun and keep writing……xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

